Parameters Undergoing Review

Stages in the Review Process

Stages of Review:

  • JTFPP 1st review
  • Workgroup-JTFPP Revise
  • Sponsoring Organization review/Membership review
  • JTFPP & Workgroup review of comments
  • JTFPP Final review
  • Submit for Publication


The journal for publication (Annals vs. JACI/JACI: In Practice) is decided in the following manner:


1)   Updated practice parameters will appear in the journal opposite from which they last appeared, creating a rotation of practice parameters.


2)   New practice parameters will be rotated between the journals based upon when the review process has been completed and they are ready for submission.

Parameters, unpublished, available for allergy organizational membership & public comment


The Joint Task Force on Practice Parameters welcomes medical professionals as well as the public to review and offer comments prior to final review and publication. Parameters are placed on the website of the AAAAI, ACAAI, and this website for 3 weeks during which time you may download, review, and submit comments and suggested revisions to Peris Flagg, Administrative Manager of the JTFPP at



Parameters currently in review process



Rhinitis Traditional Practice Parameter Update


Chair: Dr. Mark Dykewicz

JTFPP Liaison: Dr. Dana Wallace


Workgroup Members:

Eli O. Meltzer, MD

Faud Baroody, MD

Gary Steven, MD

Ira Finegold, MD

John B. Hagan, MD

Jeffrey Shaw, MD

Tim Craig, MD


Status: The first GRADE type Rhinitis Updated PP has been published in Annals.  The Traditional Parameter draft is currently being revised and is also under review by the JTFPP.


Journal for Publication: One of the AAAAI Journals

Conflict of Interest documents for workgroup members are available for review.



Anaphylaxis: 2019 Practice Parameter Update and

GRADE Analysis


Chair: Dr. Marcus Shaker

JTFPP Liaison: Dr. Dana Wallace


Workgroup Members:

Jonathan Bernsterin, MD

Ronna Campbell, MD

Chitra Dinakar, MD

Anne Ellis, MD

David Golden, MD

Matthew Greenhawt, MD

David Khan, MD 

Jay Lieberman, MD

Phil Lieberman, MD

John Oppenheimer, MD

Matt Rank, MD

David Stukus, MD

Marcus Shaker, MD

Julie Wang, MD


Eddy Lang, MD

Past JTFPP members: 

David Lang, MD (former JTFPP member)

Jay Portnoy, MD (former JTFPP member)


Status: Submitted to JACI for publication. Awaiting review


Journal for Publication: Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology

 Conflict of Interest documents for workgroup members and JTFPP reviewers are available for review.



Eosinophilic Esophagitis


This is a GRADE guideline developed in conjunction with the American Gastroenterological Association Institute.


Workgroup Members:

Matthew Rank, MD

Ravi Sharaf, MD

Glenn Furuta, MD

Seema Aceves, MD

I. Hirano, MD

E.S. Chan, MD

N. Stolleman

Matthew Greenhawt, MD

Jonathan Spergel, MD

Yngve Falck-Ytter, MD

Evan Delton, MD

Matthew Greenhawt, MD

David Stukus, MD


2017 JTFPP members, collaborators

Jonathan Bernstein, MD

Chitra Dinaker, MD

David Golden, MD

David Khan, MD

Jay Lieberman, MD

John Oppenheimer, MD

Marcus Shaker, MD

Dana Wallace, MD

Julie Wang, MD



Status: The review has been completed and the guideline is being submitted to the AGA and Annals of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology for simultaneous publication. 


Journal of Publication: The document will be published in the AGA Journal as well as Annals of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology.


Conflict of Interest statements for workgroup members and collaborators are available for review



Sponsoring Organizations

Pocket Guides

Direct Link to all JTFPP Pocketguides:



Exercise-induced Bronchoconstriction



Vaccine Reactions